KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Help please,

I am looking for a front/header pipe for my 05 400exc factory racing.

The part number in the parts book is 594.05.007.200. (although the illustration looks different to the one on the bike.:confused:)

Will front pipe 594.05.007.500 fit my bike?. . . its stated as fitting 2005-2007 400-525 exc. and looks the same.

I'm fairly new to ktm's so unsure of interchangeable part's / superceeded part numbers etc. etc.

ps.
it currently has standard front pipe and can (i think).

·
Premium Member
31,502 Posts
594.05.007.500 is for the 560 SMR so will fit but you need the SMR silencer spacers as the SMR header kicks out more to clear the fat rear tyre.

I have a used EXC one, but its a bit rusty near the head. New ones are about £110 so got to be worth £35?

·
Registered
56 Posts
i got a stainless one from ebay for my 450 but it needed slight adjustment in a vice with a mallet to get it to line up properly but it was only £85

·
Premium Member
31,502 Posts
i got a stainless one from ebay for my 450 but it needed slight adjustment in a vice with a mallet to get it to line up properly but it was only £85
Thats the first bit of feedback I have heard about those pipes. Its a good alternative to the plated steel KTM pipe, then?

·
Registered
56 Posts
the stainless turned a light straw color as soon as the heat hit it but apart from that it seems OK.
although i get popping on engine braking but i never rode the bike before changing the header so don't know wether it done this before or not i used exhaust paste to ensure an air tight seal.
any thoughts what could be causing this?
05 450 exc 70 hrs don't know much of its history

·
Premium Member
31,502 Posts
The tend to pop. Turn up the idle speed a bit.

·
Registered
6,171 Posts