KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

this being my first post please break me in gently, I am new to the world of off road riding, or in my case off road dirt eating and bike breaking. the problem i have is my bike wont start, its leccy start and does spark, it is getting fuel and have tried a new stater, when you try to start it the bike seems to send fire through the carb which has resulted in a scorched air filter.
The problem started after I took of the carb to clean it (i used proper carb cleaner for this). When i put the carb back on it started but ran sluggishly, when i took it for a spin around the block it went but ran like poo. When i got home I left it for an hour then tried to start it again, to my amazement it wouldnt go.
I then baught a new plug and plug cap changed those and it started mint, left it for a day took it for a spin and it was poo again, now it wont start. when starting it does shoot flames from the airbox, is this normal I presume it isnt and could it be a timing issue, appologies for the essay.

Thanks in advance for any comments and assistance.

Daz

·
Premium Member
31,492 Posts
If it started when you cleaned the carb it sounds like its the problem.

Is the O ring on the fuel screw? In right order? They slide onto the screw in this order... spring, washer, O ring.

Is the plate on the slide the right way up (hole to the bottom).

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yes is the answer to both of those, ive had the carb checked and its all good, when i changed the plug and plug cap, it did run fine, but when left for a bit went to start it and hey presto no bang bang.

thanks.

·
Premium Member
31,492 Posts
Sometimes they dont start well from warm i.e. neither hot or cold. Check the valve clearances.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6