KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9,840 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My bike will be 2 years old this month and I won't be taking KTM up on there offer of an aditional 2 years warrenty so I'll be having a go at the valve clearences :eek: which I've never done before :eek: . I've got almost 6500 miles , I've always chanced oil & filter myself every 2000 miles so I'd be due to change oil & filter within the next week but should I hold off as the valves are due to be done in September ( which would be a year since the last service ) but I probably won't have 9000 miles on the bike by then . Or do I wait till I have 9000 miles ??
Big thanks for any advice in advance :D

·
Registered
2,599 Posts
The valves are more a mileage issue than a time issue so I wouldn't rush to do them before the mileage interval is reached.

My own experience is that mine DID need doing when first checked but I'd let it run to about 11,000 miles. Last check showed them nicely in tolerance.

At 6500 miles I doubt yours need doing yet (if they were correclty set at first service)

It's an easy job. Most things are easy on these bikes - they are so well designed and made for working on.

I have a collection of shims I can send you if you need any. use what you need, throw your old ones back in the pot .................... if that makes sense. If you need to buy any shims I can highly recommend the Harley Davidson shims as these come in half sizes and make getting the clearances spot on much easier. if you do buy shims buy 1 extra of whatever sizes you need and throw them in with my shims - between us all we can build up a useful set of shims.

Pete

·
Registered
3,940 Posts
If it runs OK, then leave till 9,000 miles, as that is the normal service interval, unless of cours you're caneing the shit out of it on a regular basis.

As far as doing the clearances, it's pretty easy as long as you've got a little previous experince/mechanical sympathy and take your time.