KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,Guys

Im new to off road riding and looking to get an idea of what sort of body protection you guys wear for riding trails and single track.

Chris... :)

·
Registered
3,545 Posts
Welcome bud... I wear the Leatt 3DF Air Lite body protector. Lightweight and protective, low profile and comfortable. Has neck brace loops as well, I run the Leatt 5.5 next brace too... optional though, I ride in the desert so big drops are likely.

·
Registered
3,545 Posts
I use Pod knee braces too. Also get a good pair of boots, I sustained what could’ve been a leg break from a side impact, got away with an inside malleolus fracture and rode the bike home.

·
Registered
784 Posts
Simple.......wear as much protection as possible, because you will come off...a lot......and it will hurt, even with full protection

·
Administrator
8,621 Posts
Chest and back protector
Elbow pads
Knee pads
Decent boots
Gloves
Helmet

You can spend foutunes and end up not being able to move. Start simple and see how you go.

Look at dirtbikeexpress.co.uk for a good idea if whats available.

You don't need to spend foutunes to start with.

·
Registered
6,709 Posts
Leatt armour, as per Miner.
Way better than armoured jacket as they tend to be too loose...as I found out years ago.

·
Registered
8,649 Posts
Another on the leat d30 body suit. You don’t know it’s on till you crash and it doesn’t hurt. I use their d30 hybrid knee guards as well. Lots of clean fresh gloves. Get as much venting as possible. Getting wet doesn’t matter. Getting to hot does. Decent boots are definitely worthwhile. Fit of everything is important. Anything not perfect don’t bother with. It’ll piss you off and you’ll go shopping again.

Reactions: DougW

·
Premium Member
7,496 Posts