KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello been on the forum for ages and thought i better say hello and ask for your advice.I am thinking of getting myself a 2nd hand 950 adventure.I have a Triumph street triple R the now but my commute of 60 motorway miles is no fun(even worse in the snow and rain) on it so would be selling it to help fund the Ktm.Used to have a Ktm 690 but sold that to get the Triumph.

Would be helpful if anyone could tell me what to look for other than the normal things when buying 2nd hand?
As i will be doing atleast 16000 miles a year how easy are they to service?(Im handy with a spanner as im a car mechanic)
Are they really as comfortable as they look sitting on motorways?
Thanks.

·
Registered
2,534 Posts
Evening mate - welcome - Il have a cup of tea please

16,000 miles a year will get you nearly 4 services (if you follow the interval advice) but I do my own as the year goes on - preventative like. I find it a joy to work on, however oil change is time consuming, but they go together and come apart fairly easily.

There are known issues - fuel pump - make sure it is fitted with a Facet instead of standard one, water pump shaft needs replacing ever 16,000 ish miles otherwise you can end up with water in your oil, valves dont seem to go out of kilter too much - depending if you rev the nuts of it - so every 10,000 miles should be checked. On motorways they are comfy but some experience buffeting at speed - never bothered me but take one for a test ride to be sure.

There are electrical issues but a quick check of the necessary areas and you should be fine as they usually show up as a mass of wires hanging out of a connector block!