KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!
I am new in the UK and I am getting my new motorbike tomorrow!. I need to lock it on a stationary object but unfortenetly there is nothing that I could use in my home. My question is can I lock my motorbike chain on a street light or on a street sign or a tree? or I may get a fine? I live in north London , Harringey.
thanks!!

·
Registered
759 Posts
Hello all!
I am new in the UK and I am getting my new motorbike tomorrow!. I need to lock it on a stationary object but unfortenetly there is nothing that I could use in my home. My question is can I lock my motorbike chain on a street light or on a street sign or a tree? or I may get a fine? I live in north London , Harringey.
thanks!!
Faaarkinell! They fine you for being alive and having the bare face cheek to breath oxygen in London!!! Anyway, anything worth
scrap metal will be stolen if chained to a lamp post. I think the theft will come way befoe a fine.....

·
Registered
5,754 Posts
Tetley is correct. It won't be around for long if you chain it up to a lamp post. You need to get a ground anchor concreted in your garden at the very least, with a massive lock (Almax) and an alarm. It really will not last otherwise!

·
Administrator
3,880 Posts
Bah....

Karxarini

I've parked all my bikes on the street in fulham for 17 years. Not had one stolen yet, knock wood...

1. Use a cover - the shitty covers are best. If they cannot see it, they don't nick it.
2. Don't chain to a street sign - they use high-lifts and just lift the bike up and over and gone.
3. Only use street lights
4. Obviously the Almax Immobiliser IV for around the rear wheel and the street light.
5. Even better is an "anti pinch pin" that means the chain is secured to the bike, not just a very secure rear wheel...