KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to the forum and to my KTM SXF250 06 grateful on any guidance!

So my rear sprocket is looking very worn (supersprox) and thought i'd put a chain and front sprocket on while I'm at it, But i have no idea on what kit to buy! seems to be so many variations and brands.. Im no professional and only use the bike for practising over a weekend so looking for a balance between price and quality?
seen some cheap kits on eBay around £50 are these to be trusted or to stay away from..

thanks in advance

·
Registered
8,464 Posts
Buy cheap buy twice!

Quality o ring chain such as DID is is a minimum. These can be joined with a split/spring link but the plate on these wear and need checking and replacing accordingly as they wear. They are easy to do, it's worth buying a spare when you buy a chain so you have it ready and know it's right. If you can afford it x ring even better but you can only rivet link them so you need a tool. The tool is worth getting though long term.

Go for named steel sprockets. I just use ktm fronts and standard steel rears. I was using the stealth rears but other than looking nice they don't seem to be that different, maybe a bit lighter.

It's likely that you'd need to shorten the chain to fit so will need a chain tool to do that, seems to make sense to get the splitting and riveting tool and use an x ring. It'll last longer and is less to go wrong.

·
Registered
2,462 Posts
I use the pro action steel sprockets they are great value and last well
I think the did vt2 chain is the daddy I usually get 100 hours out of one

·
Registered
2,906 Posts
If you can afford it x ring even better but you can only rivet link them so you need a tool.
You may want to check your statement.

I have been and are, using x ring chains with spring clips (without problems). I specify the spring clip link when I order the chain. (the unwanted rivet link comes too).

·
Registered