KTM Owners Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of October's Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently i broke down and once recovered and i was home i found there was no spark but before this bike was running perfect, And found i had a bad stator ive had it rewound put bike back together and im still not getting a spark.

So far ive tried, stator rewind.
tested the coil inc the ht lead ( following youtube video's)
Removed kill switch

When i try and kick the bike over the lights come on and the screen turns on.

ive tried finding videos of how to test the electrics but i have no idea if the stator is even putting out enough power for the spark plug.

Im very new to KTM's and going into bikes this far, Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
9,928 Posts
Lemon drizzle or carrot?

Reactions: Rob James

·
Registered
257 Posts
When you say bad stator, what you mean by that? Was it totally fucked? Or slightly different readings compared to what you should get? Out of interest what was the price to get stator rewound?

Um.. have you tried the rectifier? Checked all the earths?

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The stator was shorting to earth (which im assuming was what stopped the plug sparking) i was getting a small amount of power from it before. it was £120 for a complete rewind. ive checked all earth unplugged every thing and cleaned the connections. I dont know how to check the R/rectifier

·
Registered
9,928 Posts
you don't need the rectifier for a spark

Reactions: steveman

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
iv ejust done a ohms test on the spark pulse generator and its higher then recomended almost double could this be the problem?

·
Registered
1,013 Posts
The stator on your bike can be considered as four separate coils.

1. Red and Green wires - the pulser coil
2. Red/Black and Red/White wires - source coil