KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15,371 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It was my cousins, 1998 model in blue with dyno jets and a MIG Can ??? It's the first time I have ever ridden anything quite like it. It scared the shit out of me to be honest and only re-affirmed that I will never buy a large jap sports bike ! ! !

Okay, I'm a novice but it just seemed out of control and the riding position is PUKE, how can anyone enjoy that !!! Insane power though . . .

·
Registered
3,154 Posts
It was my cousins, 1998 model in blue with dyno jets and a MIG Can ??? It's the first time I have ever ridden anything quite like it. It scared the shit out of me to be honest and only re-affirmed that I will never buy a large jap sports bike ! ! !

Okay, I'm a novice but it just seemed out of control and the riding position is PUKE, how can anyone enjoy that !!! Insane power though . . .
agree, if thats the first lt4 you have ridden then it probably will put you off em. let me tell you they are not all like the 98 r1. them things are the madest, badest thing out of production IMO

·
Registered
2,091 Posts
It was actually a Kwak ZX, but the theory holds. I got used to it after 3 months but kept it for about 3 years IIRC. Why did I move to the 990Adv? Well always fancied one, and when I was riding around Norway one year there were a bunch of roads I couldn't do as they were gravel. That made my mind up and when I got back I had the 990 within about 4 months.

Power corrupts, and litre jap bikes corrupt absolutely :)

cheers

Markie

·
Registered
1,129 Posts

im riding an 04 R1 now.
when i first rode it the riding position felt terrible. really track orientated. high pegs, low bars. but after a few rides it felt ok.
now it feels really comfy. you just get used to it. doesn't help when you are used to being so upright on an SM.
although mine has about 30bhp more than the original it makes it in a more useable way. the original ones have a reputation as evil bastards!