KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

New to the forum....

I recently bought the bike below, not that this was taken BEFORE i stripped it and cleaned after buying. I have been riding a Yamaha R1 for the last 5 years and i'm now addicted to the KTM !!

Does anyone have any advice about this model, i'm new to KTM etc and don;t know where to start.

Tips and tricks would be nice, what to look out form any common issues and the likes.

Thanks in advance.

Trebz

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Oh come on guys and gals, is that it....

'Make it do wheelies' !!!!!!!!!

What about best engine oil, common faults, suggested replacement components, best after market exhausts etc !!!

:)

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
What about best engine oil
Motorex Power Synt 10w50 is a very good oil. Oil and filter changes after 1300/1500 miles

common faults
Wrong usage/ driver :D

suggested replacement components
hmmm.... nothing

best after market exhausts
I am not sure about duke II but I think the Akros are one of the best.

Generally check your coolant and your oil level often, tyre pressure as well but not that often, make sure that your tyres are good tho.
Is a very good bike and you gonna love it ;)

I forgot... welcome to the forum :)

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'll be looking for some carbon Akropovic's, i'm not sure i can justify spending £700 or so on a new pair so i'll be looking for some 2nd hand ones.

Thanks for the pointers matey.

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
You are welcome!
New exhausts will help the bike a lot, I saw the difference on my bike but as you said I can't say if it's worth to spending that amount of money.
My twin exhausts with the headers cost me about 1050 quids and the cans had around 3000 miles on whilst the headers were brand new.

·
Registered
7,060 Posts
Welcome to the forum buddy! :D