KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi guys. Im new to the site so go easy on me. Im not a mechanical mastermind so be nice :)

I have just bought a 520 exc 2001 to go over to the Isle of Man on for road use, but im having problems. Theres a list so be prepared. So its a 520 exc, been sitting for 5 years according to the seller.

1. The main issue I have is the bike runs on choke, idles low. But pops and bangs if i rev and let off the throttle when the choke is off and it cuts out if i dont rev it.
Ive heard there 2 chokes, one with a nipple on the end, and one with out. I think mine is 'with' because when i push the choke it i see a little thin bar block a hole on the carb (the carbs off the bike and i took the 'Flat CR' marked top off)

2. Ive looked in the repair manual and the carb specs mention a restricted version 12.5kw with a different jet needle. How do i know if mines the restricted one? does the slide door open less?

3. All the pictures on google suggest the fcr mx 39 has a hot restart knob. Mine only has a choke, no red knob. Has someone installed a standard fcr 37 or 39?
*Edit; I think some MX carbs have the hot re-start, and some dont. Fleabay number example; 270913786310 !Confused!

4. Is it worth getting new jets just to be safe? If so can you recommend jetting for road use, and where to buy from. I need fastish delivery and money is an issue at the min.

A thank you in advance, all help will be appreciated.

·
Registered
3,603 Posts
been sitting for 5 years according to the seller.

well that is the main problem. you need to take the carb off and clean out every jet and airway using a high pressure airline, carb cleaning sprays. i also use the nossle cleaning tool from a oxy act set to make sure the jets are clean.