KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Guys,

I am researching trailers to tow a motorcycle behind a van around Scotland and also on European trips.

I have no experience regarding trailers so any knowledge anyone can supply me with would be fantastic.

Some of the transverse loading trailers look good and easily stored, there are even options of having a hand cranked winch to pull the bike up via the front wheel chock, obviously for the heavier bikes.

Also the Motolug collapsible trailer looks decent in the heavier option.....

The transverse loading trailer is a lot shorter in length whilst towing, but im not sure if this is more stable or as easy to tow as the standard shaped Motolug

Any feedback will be appreciated

Chris...:)

·
Registered
138 Posts
I had a Moto lug, ( 10 inch wheels ) with 690 enduro on it.
doddle to put toghther,strip down
towed lovely even at 80 or so,on a private road...never knew it was there...

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I had a Moto lug, ( 10 inch wheels ) with 690 enduro on it.
doddle to put toghther,strip down
towed lovely even at 80 or so,on a private road...never knew it was there...
So was the Motolug sturdy?....would you be happy using it for a long trip?

·
Registered
592 Posts
So was the Motolug sturdy?....would you be happy using it for a long trip?
I’ve had Moto lug for years, very pleased with it. Handy when buying a bike privately as you can travel there with it in the car, just 10 mins to assemble. Don’t tow it empty however, it needs a bike on it fastened down to tension the frame. Easy to load and tows brilliantly. Depending on what your towing with, best to upgrade to the 10 inch wheels if you can.

·
Registered
138 Posts
As Nige has said,
i never plodded around Europe with it,,but would be happy too no problem,
they also come with a grease nipple for the bearings,

·
Registered
329 Posts