KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone and thanks for the add! My name's Alex and I've just bought a 2020 EXC 250 TPi Six Day so a very happy camper (even though it hasn't actually arrived yet).

A couple of electrical questions:

1) After reading through the owner's manual pdf I've found this Lithium Ion battery which looks to be the same spec as the stock item but a lot cheaper, has anyone used one of these?. According to Demon Tweeks you can charge Li-Ion batteries using conventional lead-acid battery chargers, is this correct?

2) Although not planning to leave the bike anywhere it worries me that it could be started without a key whilst paying for fuel etc. so I was planning on fitting a simple ignition switch. I've been a motorcycle mechanic in the past and have trade qualifications so the wiring will be no problem as long as I can access a wiring diagram but has anyone done this, or is there a preferred method in the community? I had in mind something of this nature installed neatly somewhere:

Thanks, hope someone can help!

·
Registered
3,232 Posts
Welcome to the only forum worth a damn.

Good choice of bike! Have you ridden much before?

Good to have a real mechanic on here too.

I've gone through 2 skyrich batteries. They each only lasted 6 months. The third is doing much better and I put that down to the fact that I rarely if ever charge it. The previous two, I charged the night before every ride. You can get away with a normal so charger as long as it doesn't exceed a certain number of volts (15.5 I think) but it would be better to have a lithium specific one. However, if you're riding regularly, I doubt you'll ever need to charge it.

There is a thread down the page about our resident expert's hidden ignition switch:

Smart ass Kev's magic switch

·
Registered
1,675 Posts