KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

As the title says, I am new to KTM and have my eye on a number of 990adv that I am considering buying. I have the money ready to make a purchase and am really looking forward to owning one of these and have been for a long time. To me the 990adv is one of the coolest looking bikes I have ever seen and the reports I have read (never mind the videos) have me convinced this is the bike for me.

Looking a bit of advice:

- Am I better considering a lower mileage older bike (07/08) with approx 15000 miles, or a later (10/11/12) bike with higher mileage of approx 30000 miles? I am of course considering extras that come with the bike etc.
- How critical is a service history if I plan on giving any new bike I purchase a full (inc valve) service?
- Aux fuel tank (any advice on going 2-1 exhaust with a side mounted tank or any experience with the Rade underseat tank?)
- heated grips (Worth buying a bike with originals or getting a set of oxford?)
- panniers and topbox (are the pannier rails and topbox rack standard or are they different for different manufacturers - ie touratec / hepco and becker?)
- Sat Nav (any issues with powering a satnav set up?)

A bit of a long winded introduction and a load of questions, but I would really appreciate some advice before I make any purchase as I feel I am balancing a lot of options.

PS. I plan on getting some off-road training (been a very long time since I have been off road) both on smaller bikes and the new one I purchase (or machines provided by training center). Any advise very much welcome.

FYI, I am in the Liverpool area and would consider looking at any good condition 990adv that people on the forum may be planning to sell.

Thanks

Barry

·
Registered
1,125 Posts
Hi Barry & Welcome

I span your question but have no direct knowledge as I have a 990 Superduke & an 1190 Adventure.