KTM Owners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

Newbie here. I find that my KTM SX idles fine on cold start in neutral with choke off, but as it warms up it slowly dies. I have adjusted the idle several times which seems to fix the issue, but next time I take it out same again. I also find that when it warms up it does not idle for long with the clutch in.. it will eventually slow and cut out. I have read conflicting advice online as to whether race bikes should actually idle, but looking for advice. I do not want to keep turning the idle screw to eventually foul the plug. Appreciate any thoughts! Thanks

·
Registered
10,781 Posts
What sx is it?

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So back off on the idle screw? Premix is bang on and no issues when running. Choke never needed when starting. Plug not fouled and still starting no bother

·
Premium Member
10,760 Posts
If its starting with no choke and running gets worse as it warms up, then its too rich. More to do with jetting than the idle. Try adjusting the airscrew till it runs better. If airscrew needs to be more than 2 turns out, you need a weaker pilot jet. Running rich could also be an indication that the reeds are in need of attention.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I’ve not actually touched the air screw but it seems to be right in as far as I can see. I’ll turn it out two turns and see how I go? Thanks appreciated

·
Premium Member
10,760 Posts
Go for the typical 1.5 turns out from fully in - go carefull bottoming the screw out. Beyond 2 turns out typically indicates needing a weaker pilot. Anything less than 1 turn out suggests it needs a richer pilot. Get that part of the running right and see how it is ...... if you are otherwise happy, then it is likely that needle and main are fine. Just change one thing at a time so you know what the changes are doing in isolation.

·
Premium Member
10,760 Posts