KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howde all,
a newbie here looking at a first KTM purchase.

A quick question though, I have seen a bike registered as a 2011, that has RC8R black and orange fairings.

However, it has a black frame and bare alloy swingarm.

Is it just a 2011 twin spark model, or was there ever an 8R that had the black frame?

It's a cracking price and low mileage, with the first big service just done.

I'll be using it as a day to day bike, doing around 15,000km per year in mixed urban, motorway driving.

Am I mad?

Answers on a postcard... :)

Cheers,
A

·
Registered
283 Posts
im pretty certain that all RC8r's had orange frames and black swing arms (someone might correct me), if its got the R decals on the fairings then id have to ask the owner. it could be that they just preferred the look of them, or they could be trying to palm off a non R as one.

this is most likely a 2010 non R registered in 2011, and its had the fairings swapped.

typically most R variants go for £7k and upwards, so if its cheaper than that it most likley isnt one. is it listed in the sales post as being an R?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
@WhiteMarmite: Thanks for that. All of my researches have turned up the same.

It is being listed as an RC8 1190R with some extras, like a quickshifter and rearsets. It is a very keen price, and very low mileage. To be honest, I'd be more concerned that it is the improved 2011 model, rather than an R model.

I suppose it is a question of finding out if the owner knows what it is, and if the description is just being a bit lose.

It is very close to me, so going to have a look on the weekend. Will report on inspection.
Cheers.

·
Registered
283 Posts
the biggest telling point will be the wheels, ALL R versions have forged marchesini wheels which look like this

https://www.ktm4u.co.uk/spare-parts/ktm-powerparts/on-road/1190-rc8-superbike/rear-wheel-rc8r-cpl.-black