KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a complete novice as far as off road riding is concerned but I have been cajoled into doing the 'adventure' stages of the Intercontinental Rally.

I am after setting up a bike that is also road legal. It needs to have a range of 250km and it will be covering between 300 and 600km a day.

Is a 525 enduro going to be suitable? Or would it need to be the 690?

Any advice would be hugely appreciated.

Or even better - does anyone know of one or sale!

Many thanks.

·
Registered
361 Posts
The Intercontinental Rally looks a cracking event, have a look at RallyMoto Forums - The home of rally motorcycling in the UK the home of rallying in the UK there is a list of events for this year and you can still get an entry to the K2 Rally in June. As for the bike personal for me the 690 due to longevity of the engine and lots of aftermarket kits & bits available to make it in to a rally/adventure bike.

·
Registered
3,619 Posts
both bike will need bigger tanks fitted as neither is great on fuel. 525 would be more fun but would need oil chnages i think along the way - well you are supposed to but it might be ok. 690 is better suited as engine is designed to go the distance. ok on fuel i believe but tank is a but small. how about thnking outside the box ie xt660z? i've got one and it'll do 250 miles on a tank no prolem, i've stretched it to 300 miles. should be fine for the adventure bits and can be picked up cheap too.

·
Registered
361 Posts
Yes John your right the Yam would be spot on for that type of event straight out the crate and a at 50% of the cost of a 690 + rally / adv kit, I assumed Ben may have one of the two bikes already anyways he needs to get riding.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #5