KTM Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

I've fancied a change for a while so I'm in the process of selling my Yamaha R1 and getting into greenlaning/riding around a field lol

I'm 27 with no previous experience of dirt bikes. I'm a complete novice.

So far I've been looking at the KTM 250 EXC? I'm 5'10 and 15 stone so I wasn't sure if this would be suitable?

I'm after a bike to ride at weekends to have a laugh on, I wont be doing any 'events' or anything like that! just riding around in the middle of no where getting really muddy! :)

Also is there a way I can find out where good areas to ride are? I live in Surrey.

Any help would be appreciated, Thanks :)

·
Registered
165 Posts
what year is your r1? i put my old x reg srad on swapz.com and got a 55 plate 625 smc swap for it! im 6' dead on and 15 stone and a 625 is bout spot on for me, i can hold the front down when wanted or lean back and itl lift! 250 on the road after an r1 will feel slow i think i find my 625 felt slow at first but now iv learnt how corner better and got used to having loads of midrange rather than loads of top end wallop i love it! you going supermoto or crosser style?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's a 2001 Y reg.. never really thought about swapping it I was going to sell it then buy a new one.

I've been looking at the KTM EXC 250's, that's classed as crosser style isn't it? lol... so clueless! :)

I wasn't sure if 690 would be too much for a 1st dirt bike?

I'll only ride it on the road for a max of about 3 miles just to get to the fields near me.

·
Registered
165 Posts